top of page

The Japanese American Dilemma


After being in Japan for about a week and a half now, there are clear advantages and disadvantages that I've noticed of being Japanese American.

Advantage - Because I look Japanese, I blend in with everyone else and people automatically assume that I am a native. (Even going shopping with Kevin, the cashier has looked and spoke to me first, even though he is the one buying. This situation is portrayed in this video here: https://youtu.be/oLt5qSm9U80)

Disadvantage - But because I can't fully speak the language, I don't live up to the "Japanese" expectations.

Advantage - But once I tell them I am from America, the standard of expectation is significantly lowered and people are impressed with my Japanese.

Disadvantage - But as I talk to people about Christianity, they still initially see it as a foreign, "American" religion.

Hopefully I can come to a point where I can speak enough Japanese where I will no longer have this "dilemma" and the Japanese people will see that the Gospel is for all nations and for all peoples, including them!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page